David Chipperfield Architects named Architect of the Year 2019

ICONIC Awards 2019: Innovative Architecture winners announced.

David Chipperfield (Photo: Ingrid von Kruse)

The ICONIC Awards, sponsored by the German Design Council, honours the very best in architecture and design each year. This year’s official ceremony will on October 7, 2019, at the Pinakothek der Moderne in Munich during the EXPO REAL trade fair.

Zhejiang Museum of Natural History
Photo: Simon Menges

This year’s Architects of the Year was awarded to the English architect David Chipperfield. Recent projects include the James Simon Gallery at the entrance to Berlin’s Museum Island, the renovation of the Neue Nationalgalerie Berlin, the Hoxton Press residential complex in London, and the Historic Museum of Natural History in Anji, China.

The Interior Designer of the Year went to the New York-based design and art collective Snarkitecture, who created the Fun House Installation in the National Building Museum in Washington, D. C. and Altered States: Caesarstone at Salone del Mobile 2018 Milan.

The city of Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany was awarded the honorary prize of Architects’ Client of the Year for their consistent efforts in becoming a green city.

Photo: Simon Menges
Hoxton Press
Photo: Simon Menges

Leave a Reply